Opened at Women’s and Children hospital in Mecca and in collaboration with the Saudi Society for Medical Genetics, the Fifth SSMG workshop for the genetic diseases, participated in the conference 23 scientists and specialists in genetic diseases from several areas in the Kingdom and in the presence of a large number of all parts of the Kingdom’s ranged between 300 to 350 participants.

The Chairman of the Scientific Committee and consultant genetic diseases, Dr. Dia Arafa said with prevalent of high proportion hereditary diseases in the Kingdom and the importance of methods of treatment and identify them, there is a need for the organization of this conference, which hosts who specialize in this science to discuss some of the key points in genetics and includes the diversity of diseases Genetic Kingdom.
For his part, President of the Saudi Society for Medical Genetics, Dr. Zuhair Rahbeeni, certain that this conference is the fifth of its kind held in the region of Mecca, where he was the first in the city of Jeddah and the second in Medina and third in Jazan and fourth in Tabuk and aims to exchange experiences in this field and is an opportunity for professionals and workers in the medical field for the most modern developments in it, he said the SSMG aims to be a forum contributes through all of his interest in the field of genetic medicine, as well as the enrichment of scientific research and communication awareness, professional and social by holding conferences, seminars, issuing bulletins and publications and awareness programs in the field of Medical Genetics .
HE director of the maternity hospital and children, Dr. Walid bin Rashid Al Omari said that the hospital took it upon himself to highlight the scientific efforts of all disciplines the children, pointing to the societal benefit of the organization of this conference, where from which are upgrading services provided to the patient, and praised his happiness to the importance of early screening for genetic diseases and support Ministry of Health to activate this examination testing centers throughout the Kingdom in turn also thanked the Department of Education and Training, led by consultant heart of the kids and head of the training center and continuing medical education, Dr. Mohammed Khayat, for their efforts in organizing and preparing this conference.

It is worth mentioning that this seminar has been approved by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties for 17 hours CME.

أفتتح في مستشفى الولادة والأطفال بمكة وبالتعاون مع الجمعية السعودية للطب الوراثي المؤتمر الخامس للجينات والأمراض الوراثية وسوف يستمر لمدة يومان على التوالي الموافق 22-23 /2/1435هـ ، شارك في المؤتمر 23 عالما ومتخصصا في علم الجينات والأمراض الوراثية من عدة مناطق بالمملكة وبحضور عدد كبير من كافة أنحاء المملكة تراوح عددهم مابين 300 إلى 350شخص .

وأوضح رئيس اللجنة العلمية واستشاري الأمراض الوراثية لدى الاطفال سعادة الدكتور ضياء عرفة بأنه انطلاقا من ارتفاع نسبة الأمراض الوراثية في المملكة ولأهمية طرق العلاج والتعرف عليها ، أصبح هناك حاجة لتنظيم هذا المؤتمر الذي يستضيف المتخصصين في هذا العلم لمناقشة بعض النقاط الأساسية في علم الوراثة ويشمل تنوع الأمراض الوراثية في المملكة.
ومن جانبه أوضح رئيس الجمعية السعودية للطب الوراثي الدكتور زهير رهبيني بأن هذا المؤتمر هو الخامس من نوعه والمنعقد في منطقة مكة المكرمة حيث كان الأول في مدينة جدة والثاني في المدينة المنورة والثالث في جازان والرابع في تبوك ويهدف إلى تبادل الخبرات في هذا المجال ويعد فرصه للمختصين والعاملين في المجال الطبي للاطلاع على أهم المستجدات الحديثة فيه, وكما بين أن الجمعية تهدف بأن تكون منتدى يساهم من خلاله كل من له اهتمام في مجال الطب الوراثي وكذلك إثراء البحث العلمي والتواصل التوعوي والمهني والاجتماعي وذلك بعقد المؤتمرات والندوات بإصدار النشرات والمطبوعات والبرامج التوعوية في مجال الطب الوراثي.
وأضاف الدكتور رهبيني انطلاقاً من دور الجمعية الرئيسي والرائد في توفير كافة المستجدات والعمل على تطوير ومساندة الكادر الطبي المتخصص في مجال الطب الوراثي والاستفادة من نخبة الخبرات في هذا التخصص قامت الجمعية بمبادرة إقامة هذه الندوة لتحقيق الأهداف المرجوة.
وأكد سعادة مدير مستشفى الولادة والأطفال الدكتور وليد بن راشد العمري أن المستشفى أخذ على عاتقه ابراز الجهود العلمية لجميع تخصصات الاطفال ،مشيرا الى الفائدة المجتمعية من تنظيم هذا المؤتمرات حيث من خلالها يتم الارتقاء بمستوى الخدمات المقدمة للمريض، وأشاد سعادته إلى أهمية الفحص المبكر للأمراض الوراثية ودعم وزارة الصحة لهذا الفحص بتفعيل مراكز الفحص في جميع أنحاء المملكة كما شكر بدوره قسم التدريب والتعليم وفي مقدمتهم استشاري قلب الاطفال ورئيس مركز التدريب والتعليم الطبي المستمر الدكتور محمد خياط على جهودهم المبذولة في تنظيم وإعداد هذا المؤتمر .
وفي محاولة لإضافة البصمة المكية على المؤتمر قدمت إدارة العلاقات العامة والإعلام بالمستشفى بقيادة الأستاذة زينة الفدح للمتحدثين الرسميين رحلة للتعرف على معالم مكة وزيارة لمعرض الحرمين الشريفين .
ومن المقرر اليوم اختتام جميع الجلسات العلمية الثمانية وتكريم المتحدثين والمشاركين في تفعيل هذا المؤتمر الطبي.
الجدير بالذكر أن هذه الندوة تم اعتمادها من الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية بواقع (17) ساعة تعليمية.